Blog Hop

6820 713199rowanPhoto cred: Carly Gatta, gif cred: my husband :)

My good friend and sister-in-law, Nicole from Pudge and Nico, nominated me to participate in a blog hop which involves answering a few questions about myself and what Family Holloh is all about. Her blog hop answers were fun to read, and I especially enjoyed learning about her creative process. I can totally relate to not feeling particularly original, but rather being more inspired by others and reflecting that in my work. Nicole’s blog is refreshing to read and always filled with cute pictures of her modeling her beautiful creations. Oh, and be sure to enter her giveaway for a chance to win a hand-knit beret!

Here we go…

What am I working on?

Family Holloh began with the 52 Project, a year long photo challenge where I take and post a picture of my son each week. It has sort of morphed into a personal blog where I can document what my family is up to and my interests.

Why do I create what I do?

Aside from simply enjoying photography, I’d say memory keeping is my biggest reason for taking photos. I love the idea of being able to look back at photos of Rowan’s childhood in a way that documents his growth and milestones. I’m also capturing my journey as a mother. In a way, and even though I thoroughly enjoy it now, all of this is for my future self.

How does my creative process work?

I almost always have at least one camera with me, lately two– film and digital. When the moment feels right I’ll take some photos. I’ve learned that planning too much or trying to get Rowan to pose or even cooperate just turns into a disaster. Instead, I try to let him do his thing while I focus on the composition.

When I need inspiration, I turn to other participants of the 52 project. My favorites are of course the creator of the photo challenge, Jodi from Practicing Simplicity and the talented mama behind Lamb Loves Fox. Her photos are magical!

What does the future look like?

I absolutely plan on continuing the 52 project in 2015 (it feels weird even typing that, this year has flown by). I’d also like to branch out a bit, maybe try something new. I’m really interested in birth photography and think it’s something I’d love to do given the opportunity. I just think it would be so exciting to capture the raw beauty and emotion that goes into a birth.

Nomination

cobbcounty

And now for my nomination: Ashley, my sister and half of the husband and wife musical duo, Cobb County. She is a super talented singer/songwriter AND she just gave birth to the most beautiful baby girl (who I’ll be photographing very soon)! Her blog features music, tips for musicians and family life. Check out Ashley’s blog on 10/20 to learn more about her!

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop

  1. Nicole Morgan

    Wow, the photos from Lamb Loves Fox really are magical! She makes great use of negative space, and the contrast/saturation in her photos is pretty much perfect.

    Loved reading your answers, and I can’t wait to see your photos of Ruby!

    Also, Rowan’s face in the kissy picture is too good. Not. amused.

    Reply

Leave a reply

